Papa Jojo Radio Show for Thursday 29 Sept 2022

Minor studio chaos, but the show goes on!

The 6 O’clock Hour

  • Guadalcanal Diary – Pray for Rain
  • Courtney Barnett – If I Don’t Hear From You Tonight
  • Brendan Benson – Spit It Out Now
  • Duran Duran – Notorious
  • Pet Shop Boys – Opportunities
  • Carolina Chocolate Drops – Hit ’em Up Style
  • Matt Bohannon – Dew Drop In
  • Postal Service, The – Such Great Heights
  • Jenny Lewis – Wasted Youth
  • Aterciopelados – Uno Lo Mio Y Lo Toyo
  • Maggie Rogers – Want Want
  • Phoebe Bridgers – Motion Sickness
  • Björk – atopos
  • They Might Be Giants – Cloisonne
  • Haim – Lost Track

The 7 O’clock Hour

  • Kinks, The – The Village Green Preservation Society
  • Steady Holiday (feat. Bedouine) – People Take Pictures of Each Other
  • Kinks, The – Picture Book
  • Ditty Bops, The – Ohh La La
  • New Pagans – Better People
  • Angel Olsen & Sturgill Simpson – Big Time
  • Breeders, The – Happiness is a Warm Gun (Beatles cover)

The remainder of the hour was played off of CD while troubleshooting issues. I’ll try to resuscitate the listing.

The 8 O’clock Hour

Played Throwing Muses’ 1986 eponymous release. See this post for more information. Tracks marked ※ are from the Doghouse demo or the Lonely Is An Eyesore compilation.

  1. Call Me
  2. Sinkhole ※
  3. Green
  4. Hate My Way ※
  5. Rabbits Dying
  6. America (She Can’t Say No) ※
  7. Fear
  8. Stand Up
  9. Raise The Roses ※
  10. Soul Soldier
  11. And A She Wolf After The War ※
  12. Fish ※
  • Belly – Feed The Tree

Forthcoming: WAWL 220929 Edition

UPDATE: The show this week is postponed to next week due to unforeseen circumstances. Do tune in next Thursday, 29 September, at 6pm EDT.

Thursday’s show @ 8pm highlights Throwing Muses’ ‘86 LP Throwing Muses, originally untitled & was 4AD’s first US release, from the ‘98 compilation In A Doghouse. It’s a 2-CD collection that includes the original demos, sadly out of print but might see a rerelease soon. Don’t confuse this album with the very different 2003 record, also self-titled.

Dear friends, in the 6 and 7 o’clock hours I’ll play new music from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The Beths, Matt Bohannon, Maggie Rose, a live song from Courtney Barnett, and other tasty aural treats.

Tune in to at 6pm EDT and look here at for the track list. Requests are welcome at +1.423.697.4406 and at @papajojoradio on Twitter.